EN / FR

JOHANN ROUSSELOT

PHALLOCRACIA
SIGNATURES / FRANCE
CHAIS DES MOULINS


Women were at the frontline during the 2011 revolution in Egypt. They were considered men’s equals. A unique atmosphere reigned, specific to revolutions that temporarily iron out differences in the fight for a great common cause. Their euphoria was short-lived, as indiscriminate violence very quickly resurfaced. The scene filmed of «the girl in the blue bra,» beaten by the police on 17th December 2011, made its mark upon the media.
The surge of sexual terrorism and gang rape during demonstrations, mainly in 2012 and 2013, shocked the whole world. The words sexual terrorism then replaced those of sexual harassment. Today this wave fell but day-to-day life for women continues to be ruined by a nauseating cocktail of male sexual impulses and an extremist patriarchal cultural regime.
We cannot say it is like anywhere in the world. There seems to be an Egyptian syndrome. Feminist organizations have worked for years, and are still working, to combat this phenomenon. They are trying to break out of the complexities of the social taboos that blame women for participating in demonstrations, a process that reaches the extent of blaming women for leaving their houses in the first place. Women are also blamed for what they wear, though according to statistics those dressed modestly or islamically correct undergo as much if not more harassment.

BIOGRAPHY

Johann Rousselot was born in Brussels in 1971, where he studied photography at the 75 (Ecole supérieure des arts de l’image) from 1992 to 1995. After several years as a photographic assistant, and the need to report from the field, he produced his first piece about the Balkans between 2000 and 2002, awarded by the Kodak Critics Prize in 2003. He became a member of the Oeil Public in 2001, until it closed in 2010. He worked on Evangelical Christians from 2005 to 2006, thanks to a 3PPP grant. He has profusely photographed India since 2003, notably producing the series "India Shining India Crying" and "Nuit Indienne," exhibited several times, for which he obtained a grant from the Délégation aux Arts Plastiques of the Ministry of Culture, and some of the photos are in the FNAC collection (National Contemporary Art Fund). Based in India on two occasions (2006-2007 and 2008-2009), he is now based in Paris again. He joined the photography company Signatures in 2010.

SIGNATURES WEBSITE  JOHANN ROUSSELOT WEBSITE


OPENING & SIGNATURE

WEDNESDAY 28th MAY 2014 at 6.30pm
Chais des Moulins
GUIDED TOUR

THURSDAY 29th MAY 2014 at 10.30am
Chais des Moulins



THEMA “EGYPT”

EXHIBITIONS

  • DENIS DAILLEUX

    MÈRES ET FILS
    VIEW

  • JOHANN ROUSSELOT

    PHALLOCRACIA
    VIEW

  • BIEKE DEPOORTER

    IN BETWEEN
    VIEW

EXHIBITIONS

  • RICHARD DUMAS

    SÈTE #14
    -residence-VIEW

  • Sergey Chilikov

    SELECTED WORKS 1978-
    VIEW

  • SERGUEÏ PROCOUDINE GORSKY

    VOYAGE DANS L'EMPIRE RUSSEVIEW

  • SÉBASTIEN COLOMBIER

    DES HÉROS ORDINAIRES
    VIEW

  • SAMUEL GRATACAP


    LA CHANCE
    VIEW

  • CAREL VAN HEES

    > PLAY
    projectionVIEW

  • CARLOS SPOTTORNO


    THE PIGS
    VIEW

  • GALERIE LUMIÈRE DES ROSES

     
    FESSES ANONYMES
    VIEW

  • GASTON PARIS

    DE VU À DÉTECTIVE
    VIEW

  • COLLECTIVE EXHIBITION

    COMIC JOURNALISM
    VIEW

  • LIZ HINGLEY

    THE JONES FAMILY
    VIEW


  • EXHIBITIONS & RENDEZ-VOUS




    VIEW

  • TXEMA SALVANS

    THE WAITING GAME
    VIEW

  • VALÉRIE COUTERON

    CORPS OUBLIÉS
    VIEW

  • PALMER & HOLLEM

    WE CAN DO IT !
    VIEW

  • JACQUES KRIER

    LES MATINALES
    projectionVIEW

  • DENIS DAILLEUX

    MÈRES ET FILS
    VIEW

  • JOHANN ROUSSELOT

    PHALLOCRACIA
    VIEW

  • BIEKE DEPOORTER

    IN BETWEEN
    VIEW

EN / FR

JOHANN ROUSSELOT

PHALLOCRACIA
SIGNATURES / FRANCE
CHAIS DES MOULINS


Lors de la révolution de 2011 en Egypte, les femmes ont été en première ligne, à l’égal des hommes. Il a régné alors une atmosphère unique, une magie propre aux révolutions qui aplanissent un temps les différences dans la lutte pour une grande cause commune. L’euphorie fût de courte durée, car très vite une violence ciblée a refait surface. Maintenir l’ordre patriarcal traditionnel, à défaut du reste. La scène filmée de «la fille au soutien-gorge bleu», tabassée par la police le 17 décembre 2011, fût un marqueur médiatique de ce désenchantement.
L’escalade des viols collectifs lors de manifestations, principalement en 2012 et 2013, a choqué le monde entier. Les mots terrorisme sexuel ont alors remplacé ceux du harcèlement sexuel. Aujourd’hui cette vague est retombée mais le quotidien des femmes continue d’être ruiné par un cocktail nauséabond de pulsions mâles et d’un régime culturel patriarcal extrême.
On ne peut pas simplement dire «c’est comme partout». Il y a apparemment un syndrome égyptien. Des organisations féministes égyptiennes se battent depuis des années pour enrayer ce phénomène. Elles tentent surtout de briser les tabous sociétaux qui reprochent aux femmes de prendre part à des manifestations, et par extension de quitter leur poste au foyer familial. Dans la longue série de clichés machistes, elles sont aussi désignées comme responsables du harcèlement qui leur est destiné. Elles l’auraient bien cherché, notamment à cause de leur tenue vestimentaire. Pourtant les statistiques prouvent bien que les femmes voilées, habillées modestement, sont autant sinon plus victimes de harcèlement.

BIOGRAPHIE

Johan Rousselot est né en 1971 à Bruxelles, ville où il étudie la photographie au 75 (Ecole supérieure des arts de l’image) de 1992 à 1995. Après quelques années d’assistanat photo, et le besoin de réaliser des reportages sur le terrain, il poursuit un premier travail sur les Balkans entre 2000 et 2002, récompensé par le Prix Kodak de la Critique Photographique en 2003. Il devient membre de l’Oeil Public en 2001, jusqu’à sa fermeture en 2010. Il travaille sur les chrétiens évangéliques de 2005 à 2006, grâce à une bourse 3PPP. Il a abondamment photographié l’Inde depuis 2003, en réalisant notamment les séries "India Shining India Crying" et "Nuit Indienne", plusieurs fois exposées, et pour lesquelles il a obtenu une bourse de la Délégation aux Arts Plastiques du Ministère de la Culture, et dont certaines images sont entrées dans la collection du FNAC (Fond National d’Art Contemporain). Basé en Inde à deux reprises (2006-2007 et 2008-2009), il est aujourd’hui à nouveau basé à Paris. Il rejoint la maison de photographes Signatures en 2010.

SITE SIGNATURES PHOTOGRAPHIES  SITE JOHANN ROUSSELOT


VERNISSAGE & SIGNATURE

le MERCREDI 28 MAI 2014 à 18h30
Chais des Moulins
VISITE GUIDÉE

le JEUDI 29 MAI 2014 à 10h30
Chais des Moulins



THEMA “ÉGYPTE”

EXPOSITIONS

  • DENIS DAILLEUX

    MÈRES ET FILS
    VOIR

  • JOHANN ROUSSELOT

    PHALLOCRACIA
    VOIR

  • BIEKE DEPOORTER

    IN BETWEEN
    VOIR

EXPOSITIONS

  • RICHARD DUMAS

    SÈTE #14
    -residence-VOIR

  • Sergey Chilikov

    SELECTED WORKS 1978-
    VOIR

  • SERGUEÏ PROCOUDINE GORSKY

    VOYAGE DANS L'EMPIRE RUSSEVOIR

  • SÉBASTIEN COLOMBIER

    DES HÉROS ORDINAIRES
    VOIR

  • SAMUEL GRATACAP


    LA CHANCE
    VOIR

  • CAREL VAN HEES

    > PLAY
    projectionVOIR

  • CARLOS SPOTTORNO


    THE PIGS
    VOIR

  • GALERIE LUMIÈRE DES ROSES

     
    FESSES ANONYMES
    VOIR

  • GASTON PARIS

    DE VU À DÉTECTIVE
    VOIR

  • EXPOSITION COLLECTIVE

    BANDE-DESSINÉE DOCUMENTAIRE
    VOIR

  • LIZ HINGLEY

    THE JONES FAMILY
    VOIR


  • EXPOS & RENDEZ-VOUS




    VOIR

  • TXEMA SALVANS

    THE WAITING GAME
    VOIR

  • VALÉRIE COUTERON

    CORPS OUBLIÉS
    VOIR

  • PALMER & HOLLEM

    WE CAN DO IT !
    VOIR

  • JACQUES KRIER

    LES MATINALES
    projectionVOIR

  • DENIS DAILLEUX

    MÈRES ET FILS
    VOIR

  • JOHANN ROUSSELOT

    PHALLOCRACIA
    VOIR

  • BIEKE DEPOORTER

    IN BETWEEN
    VOIR